Find us on:        
                    Forgot your password?
Home »  » 
» Home


Fraser’s Hill International Bird Race 2010

23 Jun 2010

24 years ago, the Selangor Bird Group and MNS developed the concept of race for the conservation for birds and ran the first ever Bird Race in Kuala Selangor. Two years later, MNS and Fraser’s Hill Development Corporation (FHDC) collaborated and ran The Fraser’s Hill International Bird Race with only 5 3-man teams of Birdwatchers.

MNS is proud to note that The Fraser’s Hill International Bird Race has not only turned International, but also earned a spot as an important annual event for birdwatchers all over the world.

Over the weekend (19th to 20th June 2010), birdwatchers and the public flocked to Fraser’s Hill to be part of the festive ambience of The Fraser’s Hill International Bird Race. With the participation of a total of 26 teams, and a foray of international participants from Sweden, Korea, Japan, United Kingdom, Norway and Singapore, the event was truly a success and has given MNS an important new information about birds recorded during the event. Singaporean team IORA clenched the first prize with an astonishing identification of 74 bird species in the 23 hours time limit.

MNS also launched our latest publication “The Checklist of the Birds of Peninsular Malaysia”, a comprehensive publication which is the result of 2 years of meticulous work by the Records Committee  (headed by Mr Dave Bakewell) of the MNS-Bird Conservation Council. 

For more information on “The Checklist of the Birds of Peninsular Malaysia”, please contact;
Yeap Chin Aik,
Head of Department for Conservation;

MNS would also like to extend our deepest gratitude to the FHDC, our various supporters such as Leica/Schmidt Marketing and most importantly to our members who acted as Marshalls and arbitrators for our event.


  • Alan Jayarajasingam
  • Yang Chong
  • K.Sanadure
  • Lim Aun Tiah
  • Rafi Kudus


  • Alan Yu Toh Bing
  • Andrew Sebastian
  • Andy T C Chong
  • Ashleigh Seow
  • Chin Choong Liung
  • David Lai
  • Ilyas Sapiyam
  • John Steed
  • Khoo Swee Seng
  • Lee Keen Seong
  • Lee Oon Teik
  • Mark Ng
  • Ooi Beng Yeah
  • Ooi Chin Hock
  • Seow Boon Eu
  • Tan Jooi Chong
  • Tang Tuck Hong
  • Wilbur Goh
  • Yeap Chin Aik
  • Lim Bing Yee
  • Angela
  • Carolin Ho
  • Chiang Eileen
  • Esther Angel
  • Jasmine Steed
  • Liu Lai Wah
  • Ng Bee Cheng
  • Nina Cheung
  • Ong Su Ping
  • Pasupathy Jayaraj
  • Yadz Harudin


  printer Printer-friendly version   printer Send link to a friend

Home |  Disclaimer |  Sitemap |  Contact Us |  Credits |

©Copyright   2006 - 2017    All rights reserved.